Civil Law Posts
Everyone has (hopefully) heard that the minimum wage in California is on the rise. As of January 1, 2019, the minimum wage rate increased to $12.00 per hour for businesses employing 26 or more employees and $11.00 per hour for those with 25 or fewer employees. However, many counties and municipalities throughout California have lesser...
Read More
On July 3, 2019, Governor Newsom signed Senate Bill 188 which will ban discrimination based on certain hairstyles, making California the first state to protect citizens from discrimination based on hairstyle. This bill is known as the C.R.O.W.N. Act (Create a Respectful and Open Workplace for Natural Hair) and provides that the standards of professional...
Read More
A man reaching out for a handshake
Hiring a new employee is always an exciting time. It means your business is growing and most employers are eager to get the new employees off to a fast start. Before you bury them in assignments and meetings take the time to ensure that the following documentation is provided to and completed by the new...
Read More